Shit Girls Say…

I learned a new vocab word today! “Meme” I know I’m late to the game, but it means:

  1. An element of a culture or behavior that may be passed from one individual to another by nongenetic means, esp. imitation.
  2. An image, video, etc. that is passed electronically from one Internet user to another.

That being said, a meme has arisen: Shit [insert stereotype or social construct here] girls say to [insert another stereotype or social construct here]. Like this one here:

As a Black woman, I’ve had to maneuver my way through a plethora of social situations ; many of them labyrinthine; if I read the situation incorrectly the offending party may take offense, shutdown, and further perpetuate their transgression(s). I am often placed in the rule of teacher when I wish I could don the role of human being.  I wish I could react openly and honestly about HALF of the offensive and hurtful things that come my way.  You may be thinking, “…but we all have to temper ourselves when offenses arise.” True, however, things are different when you’re coming from a place that falls pretty far down on the privilege scale.

Then there’s this poorly written article on the Huffington Post. It is poorly written in that it’s not finished.  She raises an interesting point — one with which I do not agree, but I still want to hear it. It seems more like a draft instead of a finished product.

If any of us are going to call “Racism” on a National forum, let’s make sure its sensible and complete.

