My locs

I went natural my junior year of high school. I’ve been rockin’ dreadlocks since August of 2010.  At first I wanted to take care of them myself.  There’s something spiritual about a hair journey.  Embracing the texture and color makes me confront my own vision of beauty.  I don’t know if you can tell in this picture but my hair falls to my chin and my bangs are just above my eyes.  This is the “longest” my hair has been since I was a child.  In college, I shaved it all off and usually wear it in an afro.  After visiting my family in Jamaica I wanted to begin my journey back to my roots.  My first step was my hair.  There’s something to be said about a black woman’s hair.

Society often paints a picture of ugliness which black women and their allies have to combat.  When someone asked me “how long is your hair?”  My hands would raise above my head much like a halo and demonstrate an up and out rather than a down and back.  My locs are interesting because their weight allows my hair to grow down.  Each morning I analyze how my locs shape my face.  I’m also amazed at their texture and individuality.   My hair salon is filled with women and men who rock their locs with class and style.  I’m happy with my hair decision.  I can’t say that I will always have my hair locked.  My attention span isn’t that dependable.  I can say, however, that at this moment I feel a sense of pride in my culture.  I feel connected to the generations before me that made the same choice.  I can also say that my hair has become a curtain through which I see the beauty inside myself.  It isn’t “mainstream” so to speak, but it does connect me to a group of people with similar values that help me find my own natural beauty.

