Best and most terrifying birthday present, EVER

I woke up this morning to find this article on BBC news.  When I think of 9/11 my mind flashes to visions of the towers falling and the conversation with my friend who lived in New York at the time.  She spoke of the smoke and how scared she was.  I also think back to one of my students I had a few years ago.  She was an obscenely happy girl and a little socially awkward, but I loved her anyway; she was sweet.  I found out that her father died as a result of 9/11.  He committed suicide a short while after the attacks because of survivor’s guilt.

My initial response to today’s news was happiness. He’s dead. Mission accomplished.  Then, I thought about D. Trump and his announcement about his accomplishments surrounding Obama’s birth certificate and thought, “Well, Republicans, looks like 2012 is a shoe-in for Obama.”  Then I thought,  “Holy shit a lot more people are going to die.” This will never be over.  Death leads to more death and generations inherit the hurt.  That being said, I’m still proud.  I’m proud to be an American.  Regardless of the mistakes and successes of past, present, and future presidents.  I’m proud to call this place my home.

My heart is a rhythmic, but I feel at ease.  My 28th birthday is in less than 24hours and I can’t help but think of what has happened in the last 10 years.  I don’t know whether to celebrate, or cry.  For now, I’m going to get up, walk my dog, eat breakfast and try to find my heart.  Today has already started out very strangely…

Thank you soldiers, thank you intelligence, thank you America, and thank you God.

