He catalyzes my smile

Garvey is finally getting used to living in the city.  In fact, I figured out how to keep both of us sane on our walks; walk him off-leash.  I know it sounds crazy. My front porch is on a busy highway, he could easily dart into the street and get run over.  But, it seems like he listens better when he doesn’t have the leash on. Well, you know what. I think it might be that I communicate better, more often and more efficiently when he doesn’t have it on. I’d like to have more off-leash moments with the humans in my life.  This summer I’ll be supervising 10 Americorps VISTAs. If there was ever a time to start improving my communication skills I think it would be now.  Garvey is a great analogy for many parts of my life.  Below are a few pictures that are pretty good indicators of the foolishness he puts me through when he wants attention.  I’ve been working really hard on my papers for grad school.  I’ve matured as a graduate scholar and I’m proud of myself.  However, Garvey is the one that suffers most.  I try to get home and take him for a run but sometimes that’s not till later in the evening. Usually I’m in my chair typing away and he just looks at me.  When I write my thesis I’m going to dedicate it to him.  Without him I guarantee I wouldn’ve leapt to fence to the crazy farm a long time ago.

This one was taken later that night:

I’m interviewing a dogwalker to come and take him to the dogpark for an hour. I don’t know how many days a week I want.  I don’t know if this is even something I want. All-in-all, it’s not about me. It’s about making sure that he gets the exercise he needs even when I can’t be the one to give it to him.  I just hope he remembers I’m his person not the super cool English woman with the great accent who shows up just to see him.

