What if…

This was in the New York Times this morning: On Feb. 21, 1965, former Black Muslim leader Malcolm X was shot and killed by assassins identified as Black Muslims as he was about to address a rally in New York City; he was 39.
That started me thinking about what the world would be like if that hadn’t happened.  Then I thought about my life and what if…
  • …I’d stayed in Chicago
  • …I chose Peace Corps over MHS
  • …Mrs. Stewart never suggested I become an educator
  • …I never enrolled in MHS
  • …there was no Vietnam/American war
  • …I’d never adopted Garvey
  • …never dated the men I did
  • …Abraham Lincoln was never assassinated
  • …Barack Obama never became president
  • …I didn’t quit Milton Hershey when I did
  • … I never moved to Chicago
  • …never went on Semester at Sea
  • …my mom didn’t buy me my first journal
  • … I’d chosen marriage instead of my sanity
  • …I’d chosen my family instead of my sanity

As a kid I LOVED the Choose Your Own Adventure books.  It’s not that I wish anything in my past was different.  I’m just intrigued by the possibilities if they were.

