Insomnia

Ugh.  I’m up super early again.  Ugh.

My inability to deal with my student’s death is weighing on me.

I met up with a bunch of people for drinks last night and it was nice.  Made great connections in the non-profit world–by accident.  It was just this random group that got together, but they were a group of random people who are really passionate about non-profit work and also really good at what they do.  Then, I wanted to go and see a play, but by the time I got back home it was too late for me to drive out. Curse you Queen Anne! Curse you and your distance from the neighborhood in which I dwell.

So stayed home and talked on the phone forever with a woman I met in grad school.  I’m pretty fond of her.  She’s great.  Fell asleep pretty early.  Woke up around 3am and have been up ever since.

I’m meeting up with “Q” for drinks tonight.  I’m excited, nervous…I want to feel beautiful and confident and I don’t know what that’s going to take. Right now I’m worn out, a little sick and feeling kinda chunky.

Tomorrow my friend “G” and I are going to take our dogs to the park.  OH this is exciting:  He’s selling t-shirts to benefit this dog rescue that have a picture of a dog wearing a cone and a caption underneath that says, “It’s all fun and games till someone get the cone.”  When I first saw it I laughed so hard I spat whitening mouthwash into my eye.  It will be nice to hang out with him and meet his dogs.

I also need to get my paper done.  I need to make sure I’m taking the space I need.  Boundaries are a priority for me this year.

I’m going to try to get some sleep. I’m exhausted but my body just won’t cooperate.

