Running barefoot in the snow

Read an article today that made me think BOO-YAH. Granted, I’m not obese.  Weight, however, has always been an issue for me.  When I’m stressed the first thing to go are my healthy eating habits.  I choose great meals options.  It’s the in between meal times that get me.  If I’m bored, stressed, happy, or upset I end up snacking on something.   Sometimes that thing is dehydrated mango slices.  Sometimes that thing is a bag of chips or ice cream.  Not huge quantities just too much of a lot of options.

Since the 2 1/2 month road trip was cut short I’ve been able to make great changes.  Well, the reason they’re changes is because it’s winter.  In the warm months I’m amazing at eating well and getting exercise.  Winter has ALWAYS been a struggle.  So I decided to challenge myself.  I workout just a little everyday.  Somedays it’s running. Somedays it’s an exercise from P90X.  Other days I go for a walk with the pups.  My favorite activity has been running in my Five Fingers in the snow.

There is this (not so) new movement that has me pretty excited. I love being barefoot.  Some of my favorite memories in the backcountry are barefoot.  Yeah yeah, I know it’s a risk. Risk schmisk, it was fun.  When I discovered Vibram Five Fingers it was like letting a baby lick a lollipop.

For the past week or so I’ve been running in the snow in 15 degree temperatures with my Five Fingers.  It’s on a flat trail and I go as many miles as I can handle.  There’s isn’t much insulation so I have to pay attention to all of my body parts when I’m deciding whether or not it’s time quit.  So far my feet have held up smashingly and I feel the difference all over my body.  My quads and hamstrings tingle with glee the next day.

I’m doing really well. *Eating right. Journaling often. Working on my papers consistently. I’m starting to feel confident about reentering the work force.  I have a schedule and I stick to it.  I’m okay.  I like being okay.  🙂

For anyone interested in a great Butternut squash and Kale soup here’s a recipe that worked for me.  It’s also posted below.  I didn’t include the potatoes and northern beans though.

~Bon appétit!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup finely diced onion
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 4 large carrots, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups peeled and cubed butternut squash
  • 12 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 red potatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 4 cups finely chopped kale leaves
  • 1 (16 ounce) can great Northern beans, rinsed and drained

Directions

  1. Heat the vegetable oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic; cook and stir until the onion has softened and turned translucent, about 5 minutes. Stir in the carrots and butternut squash; cook and stir until squash begins to brown, about 15 minutes.
  2. Pour in the broth. Stir in the red potatoes, thyme, salt, and pepper, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 45 minutes. Stir in the kale and great Northern beans, and simmer until the kale is tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. Pour about 3 cups of the soup into a blender, filling the pitcher no more than halfway full (you may have to do this in two batches). Hold down the lid of the blender with a folded kitchen towel, and carefully start the blender, using a few quick pulses to get the soup moving before leaving it on to puree. Return the pureed portion of the soup to the soup pot, leaving the remaining soup chunky. Alternately, you can use a stick blender and partially puree the soup right in the cooking pot.

I didn’t have the potatoes or the Northern beans so I just didn’t replace them with anything.

